Results 1 to 14 of 14

M9 vs. SGS Comparative review

This is a discussion on M9 vs. SGS Comparative review within the Meizu M9 forums, part of the Archived Phones category; Meizu M9 vs. Samsung Galaxy S: Hummingbird fight | Tech From 10 The M9 got a pretty good write up...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts

    M9 vs. SGS Comparative review


  2. #2
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 51 Times in 43 Posts
    That review is quite novice. The M9 display is better than the AMOLED for viewing photos, he's relying on the perception that OLED > LCD which is outright wrong for current generation OLED panels. The colour balance is not better on the SGS because it uses the PenTile matrix which distorts the clarity and gives it a reddish hue. The only advantage it has is contrast ratio.

    As for sound output via the headphone jack, I suspect he made the same mistake I did and didn't put the headphones in 100%.

    The camera part is spot on, the M9 camera is a piece of junk.

    Performance is similar with stock ROMs, but the Galaxy S has unofficial ROMs which easily outpace the M9.

    Software/UI is subjective, but he forgot to mention the fact that there isn't a single stable ROM for the M9.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyb3rGlitch View Post
    The M9 display is better than the AMOLED for viewing photos, he's relying on the perception that OLED > LCD which is outright wrong for current generation OLED panels. The colour balance is not better on the SGS because it uses the PenTile matrix which distorts the clarity and gives it a reddish hue. The only advantage it has is contrast ratio.
    I would definitely agree. As my phone was the review unit (but I didn't actually write the review) I was there to explain things like the way ROMs were released and how the launcher worked and all that. The SGS seemed over-saturated when viewing pictures and had far too much blue.
    With the photo of the browsers showing Google both phones had brightness set at 100% which shows how the M9 really excels with whites and colour balance.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyb3rGlitch View Post
    As for sound output via the headphone jack, I suspect he made the same mistake I did and didn't put the headphones in 100%.
    Nope, it was definitely in 100%. I was surprised listening to the clearer sound of the SGS, although I think the implementation of a treble/bass adjustment could fix that somewhat.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyb3rGlitch View Post
    The camera part is spot on, the M9 camera is a piece of junk.
    Yep! 4 photos were taken of the calendar, all with a steady hand and the one chosen was the best.

  4. #4
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,366
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 261 Times in 189 Posts
    Interesting stuff, makes the M9 seem like a very good deal, bang-per-buck wise

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 112 Times in 94 Posts
    Nice & straightforward overview there.

    I think you could now remove the "promised" from the Upgradable to Android 2.3 column

    Also a mistake in the frequencies: the M9 does not support TD-SCDMA.

    Also from the frequencies, I'm once again curious if anyone in the U.S., Canada, or Latin America is using their M9 on the 850 GSM band?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    462
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    I am using it on GSM right now in Canada

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 112 Times in 94 Posts
    Thanks, but my question was whether is it running on the 850 band? Canada apparently uses 1900 as the primary, urban GSM band with 850 used for rural areas.

  8. #8
    Lurker
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyb3rGlitch View Post
    That review is quite novice. The M9 display is better than the AMOLED for viewing photos, he's relying on the perception that OLED > LCD which is outright wrong for current generation OLED panels. The colour balance is not better on the SGS because it uses the PenTile matrix which distorts the clarity and gives it a reddish hue. The only advantage it has is contrast ratio.
    Just from reading this I can tell that you have only used a Super AMOLED display for a short period of time.

    (By the way I'm the reviewer here and owner of the Galaxy S)

    The PenTile Matrix is invisible to the naked eye and has no visible "reddish" hue as you seem to believe. While the PenTile matrix is inferior to that of a Real-Stripe RGB array used in a Super AMOLED Plus display, it actually has two green subpixels for every red and blue subpixel, which can result in grainer images. Furthermore, the tint to the screen is more blue (as mentioned), resulting in grey whites and an oversaturation of the blue spectrum - this is because OLED manufacturers must increase the brightness of the blue subpixel to combat a more rapid degradation in the organic material in comparison to other colors.

    The AMOLED display has true blacks due to the design of the display and how it works, and therefore an infinite contrast ratio. This is noticeable when comparing to the M9's LCD display, which has the faint tint of the white backlight.

    Then on top of that the screen is 0.5" larger, which in person is a huge difference. The resolution might not be up to that of the "retina" display but this is equaled by a physically larger area to view. I'm not doubting that the increased pixel density looks great, it really does, but extra screen real-estate is a big plus as well.

    When it comes to which display is "better" for viewing photos it is a matter of opinion: to the eye the Super AMOLED looks more vibrant and gives the illusion of a better image despite the fact that it looks oversaturated in comparison to our test monitor; the M9's LCD display is slightly more washed out in comparison to our monitor - so either way you go you don't get "true" images. But visually, the AMOLED provides a nicer looking image with greater contrast and deeper colors.

    Also worthy of a mention here is that the Super AMOLED performs better under direct sunlight and has greater viewing angles (not really important). I think I justified my decision that the M9's display is equal to the SGS.

    Finally, I fixed the chart and got rid of TD-SCDMA bands - I had no idea what the bands were as I couldn't find any solid documentation.

  9. #9
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 51 Times in 43 Posts
    I guess we'll have to agree to disagree Scorpus, I've used both displays extensively, and I much prefer the 'retina' display.

    The M9 is still a very buggy phone, so the Galaxy S did deserve to 'win' overall.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    462
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    I am on GSM 850 because I am a fido user but I am on rogers' extended network coverage, which is 850

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 112 Times in 94 Posts
    I am on GSM 850 because I am a fido user but I am on rogers' extended network coverage, which is 850
    Sorry I have to be a pain, but according to Fido's FAQ, your everyday network is 1900 with -as you have- the option of jumping onto Rogers and their 850 network in rural areas.

    Fido | Coverage and Roaming - FAQ


    I have no doubt the M9 is a tri-band GSM phone (900/1800/1900), but still curious if anyone is using it daily on 850.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    462
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    I personally called Fido when I came back to Canada because my m9 kept showing that I was roaming on Rogers. After phoning Fido, they told me I am on Roger's extended network coverage, which is continuously 850. I don't know why I can't get on Fido's 1900 though

  13. #13
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,434
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 189 Times in 130 Posts
    the m9 is a copy of the SGS I & comparing a device that is "just" on the market with one that's already there since 2010 doesn't make sense to me..

  14. #14
    Passing By
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    how was the headphone audio test done? standard headphones, external speakers, some other method? what quality mp3s were used? 128/192/320?

    is the quality of the sound really as bad as the review seems to make it?

    was considering the phone but poor audio quality would be an absolute deal breaker for me.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. I got a M9, my review audio
    By bbee in forum Meizu M9
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 02:46 PM
  2. what i would like to know in a review...
    By evow04 in forum General Meizu M8
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 09:43 AM
  3. My review of the M6 Miniplayer
    By citizenklaw in forum General Meizu M6
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-22-2008, 05:20 PM
  4. My M6 review
    By pctwo in forum General Meizu M6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 10:57 PM
  5. M3 review by GenerationMP3
    By xx-c in forum music card M3
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-02-2007, 10:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •